The Kosovo Political system is framed as a parliamentary representative democratic republic, where the country’s prime minister is the head of the government and the multi-party system. The executive power, additionally, is exercised by the government whereas the legislative power lies upon both the government and the Assembly of Kosovo.  The president of Kosovo is the Head of State and is elected by the Assembly of Kosovo whereas the judicial power is independent of the legislature and the executive powers.

Local short form: Kosovo
Conventional long form: Republic of Kosovo
Government type: Republic
Capital: Pristina (Prishtinë, Prishtina)
Administrative divisions: 37 Municipalities
Independence: 17 February 2008 (from Serbia)
Constitution: Adopted by the Kosovo Assembly on 9 April 2008; effective 15 June 2008
Legal system: Evolving legal system based on terms of UN Special Envoy Martti AHTISAARI’s Plan for Kosovo’s supervised independence
Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal
Elections: Last held on June 2014(next expected to be held in 2018)
Major Political Parties:  

Partia Demokratike e Kosoves (PDK)

Lidhja Demokratike e Kosoves (LDK)


Aleance per Ardhmerine e Kosoves (AAK)

Aleance Kosova e Re (AKR)


Executive branch:
Chief of state: Hashim Thaqi (Since April 07, 2016)

Head of government:


Prime Minister Ramush Haradinaj




Ministers; elected by the Kosovo Assembly

First Deputy Prime Minister
Minister of Foreign Affairs
Behxhet Pacolli
Deputy Prime Minister Fatmir Limaj
Deputy Prime Minister Enver Hoxhaj
Deputy Prime Minister
Minister of Communities and Returns
Dalibor Jevtić
Deputy Prime Minister
Minister of Diaspora
Dardan Gashi
Minister of the Kosovo Security Force Rrustem Berisha
Minister of Infrastructure Pal Lekaj
Minister of Finances Bedri Hamza
Minister of Health Uran Ismajli
Minister of Culture, Youth and Sports Kujtim Gashi
Minister of European Integration Dhurata Hoxha
Minister of Justice Abelard Tahiri
Minister of Innovation and Entrepreneurship Besim Beqaj
Minister of Labour and Social Welfare Skender Reçica
Minister of Education, Science and Technology Shyqeri Bytyqi
Minister of Trade and Industry Endrit Shala
Minister of Internal Affairs Ekrem Mustafa
Minister of Economic Development Valdrin Lluka
Minister of Environment and Spatial Planning Fatmir Matoshi
Minister of Administration and Local Government Ivan Todosijević
Minister of Agriculture Dijana Zivić
Minister of Public Administration Mahir Yağcılar
Minister of Rural Development Rasim Demiri